New Year Plans: Citizen Science, Communications Business, Another Book, Videos, and Fitness

2012 is gone now, and good riddance. Well, maybe that’s a bit too harsh. 2012 was a year of building foundations that will hopefully pay off in 2013 and beyond. So while there was plenty that was frustrating, it added up to a year of building hope.

What for?

* The book. Or perhaps I should spell that out: The book on citizen science that I wrote and that will be published this year. (I’m accustomed to calling it “the book,” since it’s been such a dominating part of the last year that it doesn’t need any more description for me, but other people probably aren’t in that boat.) Of course, even though the book is done, it’s not really done: I’ve got a lot of work ahead of me to promote it, so that will be one of my focuses this year.

* The business. Ultimately, everyone’s in business for themselves, and since I’ve been doing some freelancing, I think it’s time to think that way. In fact, I’m even in the process of formalizing it; this site will soon be home to Landgraf Communications, a communications consultant offering writing, editing, videography, social media, Drupal, and special project services. (Don’t worry; I’ll still generally be a person, rather than a corporation.)

* Other projects. Currently on the docket is another book, one that I’m writing independently, but that I’m really excited about. It’s a comedy consisting of vignettes from the life of a very angry person and those who have enabled him, narrated by someone who’s been affected in a pretty strange way by the behavior. It’s pretty twisted, but I’m really pleased with what I’ve written so far. Especially the bit about Mark Russell with a Taser. I’ve also got some independent video projects that I’m working on.

* Fitness. In 2011, I lost about 60 pounds. I was hoping to continue that in 2012, but it didn’t happen. I kept the weight off, so 2012 wasn’t a failure on that front, but I still have some work to do, and I’m hopeful that 2013 will be the year for it.

I’ve stopped making resolutions, but I have a bunch of plans. I hope that whatever resolutions or plans you’re preparing for the new year, they bring happiness and success.

Leave a Reply

